skip to Main Content
Active Transportation Committee

The Regional Transportation Plan (RTP) and Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) consider all modes of transportation, including roadways, transit, and active transportation. The Wasatch Front Regional Council (WFRC) has expanded the bicycle and pedestrian portion of the RTP within recent years, adding emphasis on bicycle and pedestrian needs. As part of this effort, WFRC has coordinated with the Box Elder, Weber, Davis, and Salt Lake counties bicycle and trails committees, and currently works with the Utah Department of Transportation (UDOT), Utah Transit Authority (UTA), Utah Department of Health (UDOH), and others to identify a regional bicycle network, as well as first and last mile connections to transit.

Given the increasing interest in bicycle and pedestrian facilities, the Regional Growth Committee (RGC) established the Active Transportation Committee (ATC) in May of 2012 to provide guidance regarding bicycle and pedestrian planning issues. A major role for the ATC is to advise the Transportation Coordinating Committee (Trans Com) of bicycle and pedestrian facility programming issues within the funding programs identified in the TIP. This includes the Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) and Safe Routes to School Program (SR2S), which specifically provide federal funding for bicycle and pedestrian projects. The Surface Transportation Program (STP) and Congestion Mitigation and Air Quality Program (CMAQ) are leveraged to include bicycle and pedestrian infrastructure within larger construction projects.

For additional information regarding the ATC, please contact Hugh Van Wagenen. To learn more about bicycle and pedestrian data, plans, projects, educational resources, and more, visit WFRC’s Active Transportation program.

Box Elder County (435-734-3300)

Davis County (801-451-3200)

  • Joy Petro, Vice Chair | Mayor, Layton |
  • Brandon Stanger | Mayor, Clinton |

Morgan County (801-829-6811)

  • Blaine Fackrell | Commissioner, Morgan County |

Salt Lake County (385-468-2500)

  • Troy Walker, Chair | Mayor, Draper City |
  • Dirk Burton | Mayor, West Jordan City |

Tooele County (866-707-3100)

Weber County (801-399-8401)

  • Braden Mitchell | Mayor, Riverdale |
  • Richard Hyer | Councilmember, Ogden City |

Mountainland Association of Governments (801-229-3834)

Utah Department of Transportation (801-965-4000)

Utah Transit Authority (801-743-3882)

  • Russell Fox | Director of Planning |

Bike Utah (385-831-1515)*

Utah Department of Health (801-538-6003)*

  • Brett McIff | Physical Activity Coordinator |

* Non-Voting Representative

2021 Meetings

2020 Meetings

2019 Meetings

2022 Meeting Schedule
  • February 9
  • February 24
    New Member Orientation
  • April 13
  • June 8
  • August 10
  • October 12

All meetings are held on Wednesdays at 9:30 am and will be held virtually until further notice.

×Close search