

DRAFT MINUTES ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

October 11, 2023

A meeting of the Active Transportation Committee was held on Wednesday, October 11, 2023 at 9:30 am at WFRC, 41 N Rio Grande Street, Salt Lake City, UT, and via Zoom.

The following were present:

PRESENT	MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES	ATC REPRESENTATIVES & OTHERS PRESENT
No	Travis Mote, Member (Willard - Box Elder County)	Melanie Haws, MAG
No	Kevin Jeppsen, Alternate (Perry - Box Elder County)	Britney Ward, Sandy City
Yes	Joy Petro, Member (Layton - Davis County)	Jared Stewart, Tooele
Yes	Dave Maughn, Member (Syracuse - Davis County)	Mayor Debbie Winn, Tooele
Yes	Blaine Fackrell, Member (Morgan County)	Jim Price, MAG
No	Robert McConnell, Alternate (Morgan County)	Grant Crowell, Bluffdale DeDe Murray, UTA Kendall Willardson, MAG Mark Bradley, Brigham City Matt Cassel, Riverton Ginger Cannon, U of U Angel Papastamos, UDOT Rick Grover Becka Roolf, Salt Lake City Wendelin Knobloch, Midvale
No	Troy Walker, Member (Draper - Salt Lake County)	
No	Jeff Silvestrini, Alternate (Millcreek - Salt Lake County)	
Yes	Dirk Burton, Member (West Jordan - Salt Lake County)	
No	Neil Critchlow, Alternate (Grantsville - Tooele County)	
Yes	Maresa Manzione, Member (Tooele City - Tooele County)	
Yes	Braden Mitchell, Member (Riverdale - Weber County)	
No	Richard Hyer, Member (Ogden City - Weber County)	
No	Mark Johnson, Member (Lehi - Utah County)	
No	Ben Huot, Alternate (Utah Department of Transportation)	
No	Andrea Olson, Alternate (Utah Dept of Transportation)	
Yes	Russ Fox, Member (Utah Transit Authority)	Jon Nichols, Parametrix
PRESENT	NON-VOTING MEMBERS	
Yes	Chris Wiltsie, Member (Bike Utah)	
No	Brett McIff, Member (Utah Department of Health)	
WFRC STAFF		
Hugh Van Wagenen Jordon Chandler Rosie Hernandez Lauren Victor Hugh Van Wagenen Andrew Gruber Ted Knowlton Marcia White Jory Johner Julie Bjornstad Lauren Victor Chay Mosqueda Byron Head Sarah Lawless Andrea Pearson		

1. Roll Call and Consent Agenda [00:00:20]

Mayor Joy Petro, Vice Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:47 am and welcomed committee members and guests. Mayor Petro initiated a roll call and Jordon Chandler, WFRC, announced the participants who joined virtually.

a. ACTION: Approval of Minutes [00:02:39]

Mayor Petro entertained a motion to approve the minutes of the Active Transportation Committee meeting held on August 9, 2023. A motion was made by Mayor Dirk Burton, West Jordan, seconded by Russ Fox, UTA, that the minutes be approved without changes. The affirmative motion was carried unanimously.

2. Public Comment [00:03:09]

a. There was no public comment

3. Action: Wasatch Front Bike Network Branding Feedback [00:03:35]

Hugh with WFRC led a discussion on the plan for a new regional bike network focused on connecting Wasatch Choice Centers. The discussion included the name of this new network, as well as logo and branding.

4. Update: Tooele Active Transportation Plan [00:24:43]

Council Member Maresa Manzione and Jared Stewart of Tooele City gave an update on Tooele City's ongoing Active Transportation Plan, which is funded through the Transportation and Land Use Connection Program at WFRC. Mayor Debbie Winn touched on how important this plan was to Tooele's citizens and the excitement around better connectivity.

5. Action: Active Transportation Data Program [00:39:50]

Hugh presented a proposal to update WFRC's work program to include active transportation data upkeep and maintenance, in collaboration with MAG, UDOT, and UTA using an app or web based option. There was discussion about the pros and cons of this potential new tool.

6. Update: Parley'sTrail Connection to Jordan River Parkway [01:05:09]

Salt Lake County was unable to hold their presentation, Item #6 will be moved to another meeting.

7. Final words: Jim Price, MAG [01:05:25]

Jim Price, MAG Jim gave a few words of thanks prior to his retirement this coming December. Committee members thanked him for his hard work and dedication over the last 25 years in Active Transportation Planning.

8. Other Business [01:16:07]

Mayor Burton announced that the West Jordan Police Department has introduced e-bikes to their station, allowing for better patrolling of trails, and neighborhoods. Mayor Joy Petro mentioned that the Layton City Police Department is also adding e-bikes to their department. Mayor Petro explained that Mayor Troy Walker, Chair had been excused from this meeting, and that is why she was chairing.

9. Adjournment [01:17:23]

Mayor Burton made a motion to adjourn, Russ Fox, UTA seconded the motion. Meeting adjourned.

A recording of this meeting, as well as meeting materials, may be found on the WFRC website at www.wfrc.org.

.