

# DRAFT MINUTES ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

August 11, 2021

A meeting of the Active Transportation Committee was held on Wednesday, August 11, 2021, at 9:45am, via remote connection due to the safety restrictions put in place by the Utah Governor's Office, in response to COVID-19 concerns, in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The following were present:

	MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES:	ATC REPRESENTATIVES AND OTHERS PRESENT:
No	Kenneth Braegger, Member (Willard - Box Elder County)	Becka Roolf
No	Kevin Jeppsen, Alternate (Perry - Box Elder County)	Brian Kolbe
Yes	Katie Witt, Member (Kaysville - Davis County)	Brittney Ward
Yes	Jo Sjoblom, Member (South Weber - Davis County)	Christopher Wiltsie
Yes	Blaine Fackrell, Member (Morgan County)	Fred Doehring
No	Robert McConnell, Alternate (Morgan County)	lain Hueton
No	Troy Walker, Member (Draper - Salt Lake County)	Jeff Oyler, Davis County
Yes	Jeff Silvestrini, Member (Millcreek - Salt Lake County)	Jim Price
		Kayla Kinkead, UTA
Yes	Dirk Burton, Alternate (West Jordan - Salt Lake County)	Kent Anderson
Yes	Thomas "KJ" Karjola, Member (Stockton - Tooele County)	Kyle Shields
Yes	Maresa Manzione, Alternate (Tooele City)	Lee Bollwinkel
Yes	Michelle Kaufusi, Member (Provo - Utah County)	Mack Drzayich, Alta Planning
Yes	Norm Searle, Member (Riverdale - Weber County)	Mark Bradley, Brigham City
No	Jon Beesley, Member (Plain City - Weber County)	Matthew Huish
Yes	Heidi Goedhart, Member (Utah Dept of Transportation)	Mercedes Maestas, Salt Lake County
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Morgan Hadden
Yes	Ben Huot, Member (Utah Department of Transportation)	Patrick Leary
No	Andrea Olson, Alternate (Utah Dept of Transportation)	Richard Nelson, Utah County
No	Laura Hanson, Member (Utah Transit Authority)	Roland Stanger
NON-VOTING MEMBERS:		Ryan Beck
No	Crys Lee, Member (Bike Utah)	Tim Harpst, Horrocks Engineering
Yes	Brett McIff, Member (Utah Department of Health)	Toby Lowry
WFRC STAFF:		Travis Olsen
Andrew Gruber Andrea Pearson Bert Granberg Hannah Boettcher Hugh Van Wagenen Jory Johner Julie Bjornstad  Lauren Victor Marcia White Mikala Jordan Miranda Jones Cox Nikki Navio Rosie Hernandez		

# 1. Introductions and Consent Agenda [00:00:01]

Mayor Jo Sjoblom, Chair, welcomed Active Transportation Committee members and guests and called the meeting to order at 9:47am.

#### a. ACTION: Approval of Minutes [00:03:12]

Chair Sjoblom entertained a motion to approve the minutes of the Active Transportation Committee meeting held on June 9, 2021. A motion was made by Mayor Dirk Burton, and seconded by Mayor Jeff Silvestrini, that the minutes be approved without changes. The affirmative motion carried unanimously.

## 2. Chair Report [00:04:23]

# a. Get Out of Your Car Challenge [00:04:10]

Chair Sjoblom invited committee members and guests to think about their daily travel destinations and which of those could be done by biking or walking. Each person wrote down those destinations on a piece of paper and pledged to make those trips. Committee members and guests were then invited into breakout rooms where they discussed with each other what they wrote down.

# b. Layton MATT recap [00:15:53]

Hugh Van Wagenen, Active Transportation Planner, WFRC, reported that in preparation for their upcoming active transportation plan, Layton City hosted staff from UTA, UDOT, and Bike Utah for a Mobile Active Transportation Tour (MATT). Tour attendees discussed transit-oriented developments, historic downtown developments, and other efforts Layton is undertaking to connect their city through trails and bike routes.

#### 3. Public Comment [00:19:45]

Mayor Sjoblom opened the meeting for public comment. There were none.

#### 4. Panel Discussion: Regional Trail Maintenance [00:20:27]

[00:21:58] Jeff Oyler of Davis County, [00:28:49] Richard Nielson of Utah County, [00:35:19] Patrick Leary of Salt Lake County, [00:37:27] and Kyle Shields of Salt Lake City, discussed current regional trail maintenance policies, operations, and challenges in a panel discussion moderated by Mr. Wagenen, WFRC.

## 5. Presentation: External Forces and Future Thinking-Policies [01:01:17]

WFRC's Long Range Planning Group presented on external forces and policy research that is being done for the 2024-2050 Regional Transportation Plan. The committee provided feedback on what policies influence biking, walking, and micromobility the most.

## 6. Agency / City / County Program Updates [01:17:00]

**[01:17:00]** Mayor Troy Walker, Draper City, reported that The Point will hold an open house on Thursday, August 12<sup>th</sup>, at 4 pm at the Fred House Training Academy, to announce a framework master plan for the 600 acres of state-owned property. **[01:20:40]** Heidi Goedhart, UDOT, reported that national transportation officials recently approved more than 550 miles of bike routes in Utah to the United States Bicycle Routes System. **[01:22:25]** Jory Johner, Long Range Planning Manager, WFRC, reported that WFRC is currently facilitating the development of the 2023-2050

Regional Transportation Plan, and asked the committee to provide feedback on regional road, transit, and trail projects to consider within the planning process.

#### 7. Other Business [01:23:34]

- a. The next scheduled meeting for ATC will be in October 13, 2021.
- **b.** Call for local success story Mayor Sjoblom asked the group to submit their local success stories to be shared at a future ATC meeting.

#### **Upcoming Events:**

- Regional Growth Committee, August 19
- Transportation Coordinating Committee, August 19
- Wasatch Front Regional Council, August 26
- UDOT Region Two TAP applications due September 13
- MATT Lehi, September TBD
- Wasatch Choice Workshops, Fall 2021
- National Walk to School Day, October 6

### 8. Adjournment [01:26:26]

Mayor Sjoblom asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mayor Katie Witt made a motion to adjourn, and Mayor Norm Searle, seconded. The affirmative vote was unanimous. The meeting ended at 11:14am.

A recording of this meeting, as well as meeting materials, may be found on the WFRC website at www.wfrc.org