

MINUTES ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

February 10, 2021

A meeting of the Active Transportation Committee was held on Wednesday, February 10, 2021, via remote connection due to the safety restrictions put in place by the Utah Governor's Office, in response to COVID-19 concerns, in Salt Lake City, Utah.

The following were present:

The following were present:		
MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES:		ATC REPRESENTATIVES AND OTHERS PRESENT:
No	Kenneth Braegger, Member (Willard - Box Elder County)	Adam Borsch, AECOM
No	Kevin Jeppsen, Alternate (Perry - Box Elder County)	Angelo Papastamos, UDOT
Yes	Katie Witt, Member (Kaysville - Davis County)	Britney Ward, Sandy City
		Emily Guffin, Alta Planning + Design
Yes	Jo Sjoblom, Member (South Weber - Davis County)	Emily Seang, UDOT
Yes	Blaine Fackrell, Member (Morgan County)	Grant Farnsworth
No	Robert McConnell, Alternate (Morgan County)	Helen Peters, Salt Lake County
	, -	Jeff Oyler, Davis County
Yes	Troy Walker, Member (Draper - Salt Lake County)	Jim Price
Yes	Jeff Silvestrini, Member (Millcreek - Salt Lake County)	John Seamons, Willard City Council
Yes	Dirk Burton, Alternate (West Jordan - Salt Lake County)	Kayla Kinkead, Utah Transit Authority Kim Clark
Yes	Thomas "KJ" Karjola, Member (Stockton - Tooele County)	Mark Bradley, Brigham City
Yes	Maresa Manzione, Alternate (Tooele City)	Matthew Huish,
No	Michelle Kaufusi, Member (Provo - Utah County)	Megan Yull, AECOM
Yes	Norm Searle, Member (Riverdale - Weber County)	Mercedes Maestas, Salt Lake County Nathan Peterson, Intermountain
Yes	Jon Beesley, Member (Plain City - Weber County)	Healthcare
Yes	Heidi Goedhart, Member (Utah Dept of Transportation)	Pete Tang
Yes	Ben Huot, Member (Utah Department of Transportation)	Rachel Myrer, Utah State University
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	Reid Ewing
No	Andrea Olson, Alternate (Utah Dept of Transportation)	Roland Stanger, FHWA-UT
Yes	Laura Hanson, Member (Utah Transit Authority)	Ryan Beck
NON VOTING MEMBERS		Sarah Hodson, Get Healthy Utah
NON-VOTING MEMBERS:		Scott Shea, AECOM
Yes	Crys Lee, Member (Bike Utah)	Stephanie Tomlin, UDOT
Yes	Brett McIff, Member (Utah Department of Health)	Tim Harpst, Horrocks Engineering
WFRC Staff:		Toby Lowry, Salt Lake County
Andrew Gruber, Ted Knowlton, Hugh Van Wagenen, Bert		Travis Evans
Granberg, Bill Hereth, Christy Dahlberg, Jory Johner, Josh Reynolds, Marcia White, Megan Townsend, Nicole Mendelsohn,		Zac Covington
Nikki Navio, Rosie Hernandez		Zach Smallwood
		Zoey Mauck, Alta Planning + Design

1. Introductions and Consent Agenda [00:00:01]

Mayor Jo Sjoblom, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:46am.

a. Welcome New Members [00:04:18]

Mayor Jo Sjoblom welcomed new committee members and guests. Introductions were made via roll call.

b. ACTION: Approval of Minutes [00:06:40]

Mayor Sjoblom entertained a motion to approve the minutes of the Active Transportation Committee meeting held on October 14, 2020. A motion was made by Mayor Troy Walker and seconded by Mayor Katie Witt, that the minutes be approved without changes. The affirmative motion carried unanimously.

2. Chair Report [00:07:24]

a. Introduction to the ATC

Mayor Sjoblom introduced herself and thanked Mayor Troy Walker, Vice Chair, and Mayor Jeff Silvestrini for their service in the Active Transportation Committee. She asked Mayor Walker to speak a few words. Mayor Walker reported that active transportation has seen huge strides over the last few years, and he is pleased to see the milestones that have been accomplished. [00:11:05] Hugh Van Wagenen, WFRC Active Transportation Planner, introduced himself and reminded the committee members that the Active Transportation Committee is an advisory committee to the Regional Growth Committee (RGC) which focuses on long-range transportation planning issues, and also to the Transportation Coordinating Committee (TransCom) which programs the federal funding that comes through WFRC's short range planning. [00:21:55] Mr. Van Wagenen displayed the 2020 Active Transportation Goals and invited group dialogue to assist in developing Goals for 2021. There was a brief discussion held regarding the goals among the committee. Mr. Van Wagenen reported he will collect all the feedback from today's meeting and other suggestions and create a new set of goals to be presented and discussed at the next ATC meeting on March 10, 2021.

b. Potential Legislative Action on Infrastructure [00:35:00]

Andrew Gruber, WFRC, reported on possible legislative action involving the authorization of additional investments in infrastructure during this legislative session.

c. Why is your Organization Interested in Active Transportation?

This item has been tabled for discussion at a future ATC meeting.

3. Public Comment [00:42:18]

Mayor Sjoblom opened the meeting for public comment. [00:42:24] Blaine Fackrell, Morgan County, provided his comments regarding the lack of trails in Morgan County.

4. Discussion led by UDOT: How do we increase the number and quality of applications to the Transportation Investment Fund Active funding pool? (Goal 2: Build) [00:43:33] Stephanie Tomlin, UDOT Transportation Planner, reported on the Transportation Investment Fund (TIF) Active funding and project prioritization. She provided an overview of the TIF Active requirements – where they originated, and discussed regionally important projects/map, as well as the TIF Active project eligibility requirements.

- 5. Presentation by Get Healthy Utah: Healthy Utah Community Designation (Goal 3: Educate) [01:19:51] Sarah Hodson, Get Healthy Utah, provided an overview of Get Healthy Utah, a non-profit focused on improving access to healthy eating and active living. Get Healthy Utah has partnered with the Utah League of Cities and Towns to support Healthy Utah Community, a new designation program for cities and towns. This is designed to highlight work being done in communities throughout Utah to support and improve the health of residents. The award will be given biannually at the Utah League of Cities and Towns Mid-Year and Fall Conferences. Application deadlines are March 1 (to be recognized in April), and August 1 (to be recognized in September).
- 6. Presentation by UTA: Five-Year Service Plan (Goal 4: Coordinate) [01:18:26] Laura Hanson, UTA, reported on the five-year service plan drafted by UTA, and asked the committee to review it and share any comments. A copy of the 2021-2025 UTA Service Plan can be found by visiting www.rideuta.com/serviceplan.
- 7. Agency/City/County Program Updates [01:24:30]

[01:24:45] Mayor Dirk Burton, West Jordan - Salt Lake County, provided his comments on H.B. 142 - Cyclist Traffic Amendments, which would allow an individual operating a bicycle to yield at stop signs under certain circumstances.

8. Other Business [01:26:54]

The next scheduled meeting for ATC will be in March 10, 2021.

Upcoming Events:

- 2021 Legislative Session, WFRC update meetings, Thursdays, 8-9am, through March 5
- Transportation Coordinating Committee (Trans Com) Meeting, February 18, 2pm
- Wasatch Front Economic Development District (WFEDD) Meeting, February 22, 1:30pm
- WFRC New Committee Member Orientation, February 25, 1:30-3:30pm
- Utah Outdoor Recreation Grant Deadline, March 19, 2021

9. Adjournment [01:27:21]

Mayor Sjoblom asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mayor Jon Beesley, Plain City - Weber County, made a motion to adjourn, and Mayor Norm Searle, Riverdale – Weber County, seconded. The affirmative vote was unanimous. The meeting ended at 11:15am.