



# MINUTES WASATCH FRONT ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT

June 13, 2024

A meeting of the Wasatch Front Economic Development District was held on Thursday, June 13, 2024, at 1:30 PM, via Zoom.

PRESENT	GOVERNMENT REPRESENTATIVES	PRESENT	MEMBERS (Cont.)	
No	Dave Maughan, Member Mayor, Syracuse City	Yes	Christina Oliver   State of Utah Department of Workforce Services	
No	Randy Elliott, Alternate Commissioner, Davis County	No	Darin Brush   President, Davis Technical College	
Yes	Blaine Fackrell, Member Commissioner, Morgan County	No	Edward Bennett  Suazo Business Center	
No	Robert McConnell, Alternate Commissioner, Morgan County	No	Ginger Chinn   Salt Lake City Chamber of Commerce	
Yes	Karen Lang, Member Mayor, West Valley City	Yes	Greg Bisping   EDCUtah	
No	Kelly Bush, Alternate Mayor, White City	No	Guy Letendre   UAMMI	
Yes	Debbie Winn, Member, Vice Chair Mayor, Tooele City	No	Holin Wilbanks   Forge Contractors	
Yes	Tye Hoffman, Alternate Councilmember, Tooele County	No	Katelin Roberts   Induction Bio	
Yes	Gage Froerer, Member, Chair Commissioner, Weber County	No	Kent Anderson   Davis County	
No	S. Neal Berube, Alternate Mayor, North Ogden	Yes	Kersten Swinyard   Salt Lake County	
No	Ben Hart, Member Inland Port	No	Mauricio Melendez   Traverse Tours	
No	Ryan Starks, Member Go Utah (GOEO)	Yes	Michael Moore   Hill Airforce Base	
No	Daniel Royal, Alternate Go Utah (GOEO)	No	Michael Parker   Let's Do Good	
No	Kyle Palmer, Member Go Utah (GOEO)	No	Muriel Xochimitl   XFactor	
No	Mark Knold, Member DWS	Yes	Nicholas Fritz   Intermountain Healthcare	
No	Paul Drake, Member UTA, TOD	No	Paul Hacking   President, Tooele Technical College	
PRESENT	MEMBERS	Yes	Rachel Custer   Tooele County	
No	Aabir Malik   Colmena Group	Yes	Sara Toliver   Visit Ogden	
No	Aimee Edwards   Bio-Hive	No	Scott Parson   Staker Parson	
Yes	Alan Matheson   The Point Authority	Yes	Scott Cuthbertson   EDCUtah	
No	Anthon Stauffer   Romney Group	No	Shaleane Gee   Zions Bank	
No	Brad Mortensen   Weber State	Yes	Shannon Ellsworth   Rio Tinto	
Yes	Brandon Wood   Northwood Group	Yes	Shawn Milne   Cache County	
No	Cari Fullerton   Bank of Utah	No	Stephanie McCarthy   EDA Architects	
No	Chanel Flores   Davis County	Yes	Stephanie Russell   Weber County	
Yes	Chris Roybal   NUEC	Yes	Susie Becker   Zions Financial	
Yes	Chris Sloan   Group 1 Real Estate	No	Ty Bailey   Manager, Morgan City	
	WFRC STAFF		OTHERS PRESENT	
Andrew Gruber Byron Head Ted Knowlton Jordon Chandler Madison Aviles Sarah Lawless  Marcia White Matt Ryan Megan Townsend Rosie Hernandez Miranda Jones Cox		Bryce Wurt Gwendolyn Chuck Spei Sherry Stev Lon Crowel Joy Petro Jason Godi Linda Cabre	Kervin Jake Maxwell nce Michelle Larsen vens Tiffany McLelland I Janice Shaw Lorena Riffo Jenson frey Bob Stevenson	

### 1. Welcome and Introductions [00:00:06]

Commissioner Gage Froerer, Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:34pm and welcomed the committee. Introductions were made.

a. ACTION: Approval of the March 12, 2024 Meeting Minutes [00:02:15]
Commissioner Froerer entertained a motion to approve the minutes of the WFEDD meeting held on March 12, 2024. A motion was made by Christina Oliver, and seconded Mayor Debbie Winn, that the minutes of the meeting be approved without changes. Motion carried unanimously.

### 2. Chairs Report [00:02:57]

Commissioner Froerer reminded the group of the four key strategies of the Wasatch Choice Vision: Transportation Choices, Housing Choices, Parks and Public Spaces, and City and Town Centers. He stated that WFRC works with local communities, partners, and stakeholders to develop these key strategies. They are the focus of the <a href="2023-2028 Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy">2023-2028 Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy</a> (CEDS), which augments the strategies of the <a href="Wasatch Choice Vision">Wasatch Choice Vision</a>. Chair Froerer then introduced Marcia White, WFRC, who presented an overview to the group.

#### 3. Public Comment [00:22:12]

Commissioner Froerer opened the meeting to public comments. There were no public comments made.

## 4. Layton City Economic Development Strategy Plan - Jason Godfrey, Better City and Lon Crowell, Layton City. [00:22:37]

Commissioner Froerer introduced a project in Layton City that shows how the promotion of city and town centers are important to the growth of a city. This project, funded through the Transportation and Land Use Connection program, is still underway. Commissioner Froerer turned the time over to Jason Godfrey from Better City and Lon Crowell from Layton City to give more information about this project.

#### 5. Governor's Office of Economic Opportunity [01:11:38]

Commissioner Froerer stated that as part of the CEDS strategy for economic development capacity and grant application facilitation, presentations on best practices were made by two companies, who are skilled in these areas.

- a. Utah APEX Accelerator Chuck Spence and Darrin Cobler [01:12:13]
- b. Utah Innovation Center Linda Cabrelas [01:27:17]

### 6. Other Business & Adjournment [01:36:32]

Commissioner Froerer asked if there were any other items of business to be brought forward. There were none. He reminded the group that the next meeting will be held on Thursday, September 12. The meeting adjourned at 3:11 pm.

A recording of this meeting, as well as meeting packet materials, may be found on WFRC's website at www.wfrc.org