

MINUTES WASATCH FRONT ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT DISTRICT

February 22, 2021

PRESENT	WFEDD MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES	PRESENT	PRIVATE SECTOR STRATEGY COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES	
Yes	Katie Witt, Member, Kaysville Mayor (Davis County)	Yes	Brandon Wood, Member, Northwood Group, (Davis County)	
No	Bob Stevenson, Alternate, Davis Co Commissioner (Davis County)	No	Gary Bullock, Alternate, Millrock Development (Davis County)	
No	Taylor Woodbury, Member, Woodbury Corporation (Davis County)	No	Chris Williams, Member, Davis School District (Davis County)	
Yes	Daren Brush, Alternate, Davis Tech College (Davis County)	No	Linda Kelley, Alternate, Layton Hills Mall (Davis County)	
No	Mike Newton, Member, Morgan Co Council, (Morgan County)	No	Shaun Peterson, Member, Petersen Wealth Services (Morgan County)	
No	Blaine Fackrell, Alternate, Morgan Co Council, (Morgan County)	No	Andrew Barfield, Alternate, Snowbasin (Morgan County)	
Yes	Ty Bailey, Member, Morgan City, (Morgan County)	No	Gavin McCleary, Member, Farm Bureau Financial (Morgan County)	
No	Ray Little, Alternate, Morgan City Mayor (Morgan County)	No	Mauricio Melendez, Alternate, Traverse Tours & Travel (Morgan County)	
No	Jenny Wilson, Member, Salt Lake County Mayor (Salt Lake County)	Yes	Susie Becker, Member, Zions Public Finance (Salt Lake County)	
Yes	Karen Lang, Alternate, West Valley City Council (Salt Lake County)	No	Stephanie McCarthy, Alternate, EDA Architects (Salt Lake County)	
No	Abby Osborne, Member, Chief of Staff / House of Representatives, (Salt Lake County)	No	Aabir Malik, Member, Colmena Group (Salt Lake County)	
No	Rob Likes, Alternate, Key Bank (Salt Lake County)	No	Silvia Castro, Alternate, Suazo Center (Salt Lake County)	
Yes	Debbie Winn, Member, Tooele City Mayor (Tooele County)	No	Anthon Stauffer, Member, Romney Group (Tooele County)	
No	Tye Hoffman, Alternate, Tooele Co Commissioner (Tooele County)	No	Mike Deaver, Alternate, State Street Partners (Tooele County)	
Yes	Chris Sloan, Member, Group 1 Real Estate (Tooele County)	Yes	Muriel Xochimitl, Member, Deseret UAS (Tooele County)	
No	Paul Hacking, Alternate, Tooele Tech College, (Tooele County)	No	Samantha Julian, Alternate Rio Tinto, (Tooele County)	
Yes	Gage Froerer, Member, Weber Co Commissioner (Weber County)	Yes	Julie Fisher, Member, UAMMI (Weber County)	
Yes	Neal Berube, Alternate, (Weber County)	No	Guy Letendre, Alternate, Weber State University (Weber County)	
Yes	Cari Fullerton, Member, Bank of Utah (Weber County)	No	Chris Roybal, Member, Northern Utah Econ Dev Corp, (Weber County)	
No	Rick Fairbanks, Alternate, Ogden Exchange Club (Weber County)	Yes	Scott Parkinson, Alternate, Staker Parson Construction, (Weber County)	
STATE, NON-GOVERNMENTAL AND OTHER REPRESENTATIVES				
Yes	Benjamin Hart, Member, Governor's Office of Economic Development	No	Theresa Foxley, Member, Economic Development Corporation of Utah	
No	Tom Wadsworth, Alternate, Governor's Office of Economic Development	Yes	Alan, Rindlisbacher, Economic Development Corporation of Utah	
No	Mark Knold, Member, Utah Dept of Workforce Services	No	Joseph Spence, Alternate, I Am A Maker and IconiQ Talks	
No	Jeremias Solari, Alternate, Utah Dept of Workforce Services	No	Russ Booth, Member, Colliers International	
Yes	Rick Bouillon, Member, West Point Workforce Training	No	Michael Parker, Alternate, Ivory Homes	
No	Linda Townes, Alternate, Jordan Valley Water Conservancy Dist.			

OTHERS PRESENT	WFRC STAFF
Jared Stewart, Tooele City	Andrew Gruber
Jevon Gibb, Salt Lake County Economic Development Director	Andrea Pearson
Liesl Limburg, Salt Lake City, Economic Development	Hugh Van Wagenen
Megan Christensen, Davis County Economic Development	Jory Johner
Rachelle Custer, Tooele County	Julie Bjornstad
Rob Sant, Davis County	Marcia White
Yvette Woodland, Utah Department of Workforce Services	Megan Townsend
Ellen Christenson, Tooele Tech College	Rosie Hernandez
Holin Wilbanks, Economic Development Director, Weber County	Ted Knowlton
Randy Elliott, Commissioner, Davis County	

1. Roll Call Introduction and Consent Agenda: [00:00:04]

Commissioner Gage Froerer, Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:37 p.m. Rosie Hernandez, WFRC, initiated a roll call.

a) ACTION: Approve Minutes [00:05:50]. Chair Froerer entertained a motion to approve minutes of the WFEDD meeting held January 19, 2021.

A motion was made by Julie Fisher, Weber County, and seconded by Brandon Wood, Davis County, that the minutes of January 19, 2021, be approved without changes. Motion carried unanimously.

2. Chair's Report [00:06:32]

Chair Froerer initiated his report by introducing Marcia White, WFRC Regional Economic Development Planner. He also reminded everyone that the purpose of the WFEDD is to bring together the public sector and the private sector to advance the regional economy. **[00:11:42]** Ben Hart, Governor's Office of Economic Development (GOED), provided his report on the legislative session pertaining to H.B. 348 Economic Development Amendments. Robust conversation ensued concerning House Bills pertaining to infrastructure investment and transportation.

3. Public Comment [00:29:55]

Time was opened by Chair Froerer. There were no comments.

4. WFEDD Board and Strategy Committee Appointments for 2021 [00:30:16].

a. ACTION: WFEDD 2021 Board and Strategy Committee Appointments [00:30:16] Chair Froerer reviewed the process in which a new Chair and Vice Chair are selected. He reminded the committee that the WFEDD is housed within the WFRC Council, but exists as a separate committee that has appointments from the Councils of Government from around the region and also private sector members. He stated that for all of the other committees at WFRC, there is a nominating committee that makes nominations for the Chair and Vice Chair of the Council and its committees. Chair Froerer reminded the group that the list containing the appointments was sent out via email for review, to be ratified at this meeting.

Commissioner Froerer entertained a motion to ratify the nominations as recommended by the nominating committee. Mayor Katie Witt, Davis County, motioned to approve and it was seconded by Mayor Debbie Winn. Tooele City. Motion carried unanimously.

5. WFEDD EDA Cares Act Recovery Assistance Project List - Review [00:31:52]

Chair Froerer reviewed the list of individual projects that received funding through the EDA CARES Act. The projects are as follows: Davis County: Strategic Plan Update, MSD Service Area: Digital Infrastructure Study, Cottonwood Heights: Economic Resiliency Plan, Salt Lake City: Social Impact Bond Study, Salt Lake County: Funding to Business Recovery Assistance Grant, South Salt Lake City: Digital Inclusion Plan, Clinton City: Post COVID-19 Retooling Economic Development Plan, Tooele City: Post COVID-19 Related Training to Businesses. Jared Stewart, Tooele City, gave a brief overview of how Tooele City will be utilizing the funds provided to them.

6. Member Comments [00:36:40]

Marcia White, WFRC, initiated a lengthy discussion with the committee concerning the processes and approaches that each community is taking towards post-pandemic recovery.

7. Adjournment [01:10:47]

There being no further comments, Chair Froerer adjourned the meeting at 3pm.

A recording of this meeting, as well as meeting packet materials, may be found on WFRC's website at www.wfrc.org