

# TRANSPORTATION COORDINATING COMMITTEE (Trans Com)

**Draft Minutes** 

November 21, 2024

A meeting was held on Thursday, November 21, 2024, at 1:30 pm, at the WFRC Offices, 41 N. Rio Grande St, Salt Lake City, UT, and via Zoom. The following were present:

2024 TRANS COM MEMBERS			
COG APPOINTED		OTHER APPOINTMENTS	
BOX ELDER COUNTY		Utah Transportation Commission	
Member - Kevin Jeppsen (Perry City)	No	Member – Kevin Van Tassell	Yes
DAVIS COUNTY	•	Member – Bradley Dee	Yes
Member - Mark Shepherd (Clearfield)	Yes	UTA Board of Trustees	
Alternate - Howard Madsen (Sunset)	No	Member – Carlton Christensen	Yes
Member - Kendalyn Harris (Bountiful)	No	Member – Beth Holbrook	Yes
Alternate - Brian Vincent (West Point)	No	Utah Air Quality Board	
MORGAN COUNTY		Member – Jeff Silvestrini	Yes
Member- Blaine Fackrell (Morgan County)	No	NON-VOTING MEMBERS	
Alternate - Steve Gale (Morgan City)	Yes	UDOT Representative	
SALT LAKE COUNTY		Member – Ben Huot	Yes
Member - Robert Dahle (Holladay)	Yes	Alternate – Tiffany Pocock	Yes
Member - Ann Granato (Salt Lake Co Council)	Yes	UTA Representative	
Member - Natalie Hall (Bluffdale)	Yes	Member - Russ Fox	Yes
Member - Joe Smolka (Emigration Canyon)	Yes	Alternate – Nichol Bourdeaux	Yes
Alternate - Lorin Palmer (Herriman)	Yes	Air Quality Board, Staff Representative	
Alternate - Mike Weichers (Cottonwood Heights)	Yes	Bryce Bird	No
Alternate - Marcus Stevenson (Midvale)	No	FHWA – Utah Division Representative	
Alternate - Dan Dugan (Salt Lake City)	Yes	Ivan Marrero	Yes
TOOELE COUNTY			No
Member - Jared Hamner (Tooele County)	No	Mountainland Association of Governments	
Alternate - Craig Smith (Erda City)	Yes	Jim Miller (Saratoga Springs)	No
WEBER COUNTY	•	WFRC Staff	•
Member – Jim Harvey (Weber County)	Yes	Andrew Gruber	
Alternate - Ken Richey (Ogden City)	Yes	Andrea Pearson Ben Wuthrich Johnnae Nardone Jordon Chandler	
Member – Sheri Bingham (Hooper City)	No		
Alternate – Braden Mitchell (Riverdale)	No		
Other Attendees		Marian Florence	
David Mitchell, Davis County Kendall Draney, UDOT Nathan Peterson, UDOT		Rosie Hernandez Wayne Bennion	

### 1. Introductions and Consent Agenda [00:00:01]

Mayor Mark Shepherd, Chair, called the meeting to order at 1:32 p.m. and welcomed committee members and guests. Introductions were made by all attendees, both in person and online.

a. **ACTION:** Approval of the August 15, 2024, Meeting Minutes - [00:04:18]

A motion was made by Trustee Carlton Christensen, UTA, seconded by Councilmember Dan Dugan, Salt Lake City, that the minutes of the August 15, 2024, meeting be approved. The motion carried unanimously.

### 2. Chair Report - [00:04:47]

Mayor Shepherd recalled that at the April 25, 2024, Trans Com meeting, the committee approved the <u>Comprehensive Safety Action Plan</u> (CSAP), granting local governments eligibility for federal Safe Streets and Roads for All (SS4A) funding. Wayne Bennion, WFRC, provided a list of <u>Utah SS4A grants awarded in 2024</u>. Mayor Shepherd thanked WFRC and the consultant team for accelerating the completion of the CSAP.

[00:06:15] Andrew Gruber, WFRC, reported that the Salt Lake Chamber recently unveiled <a href="Utah Rising">Utah Rising</a>, a plan led by the Salt Lake Chamber to make Utah the top-performing economy in the nation. WFRC serves as a member of the technical committee in support of this initiative.

### 3. Public Comment - [00:05:55]

Mayor Shepherd opened the meeting to public comments. There were none.

## 4. Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) - [00:08:40]

a. Report: Board Modifications to the 2025-2030 TIP - [00:09:00]

Ben Wuthrich, WFRC, reported that since the last meeting of Trans Com, WFRC has received requests to modify the current 2025-2030 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). This modification was approved by the Regional Council at their October 24, 2024, meeting but did not require a new air quality conformity analysis or a 30-day public comment period. Mr. Wuthrich referred Committee members to the meeting materials for information regarding these modifications.

### b. ACTION: Board Modifications to the 2025-2030 TIP [00:10:10]

Mr. Wuthrich reported that there were new requests to modify the 2025-2030 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP). This modification requires action from Trans Com and the State Transportation Commission but does not require a new air quality conformity analysis or a 30-day public comment period. Mr. Wuthrich briefly discussed each project.

**[00:23:16]** Commissioner Jim Harvey, Weber County, motioned to approve the resolution to modify the 2025-2030 TIP as requested, seconded by Councilmember Dugan. The affirmative vote was unanimous.

#### 5. Utah Transit Authority and Utah Department of Transportation Updates - [00:23:43]

a. [00:24:09] UTA Tentative 2025 Budget - Trustee Carlton Christensen, UTA, discussed the <u>UTA Tentative 2025 Budget</u>, gave some of the highlights of upcoming plans, and reviewed the five-year capital goals of UTA. Trustee Christensen let the Trans Com members know that UTA's Board plans to adopt the budget at their meeting in December 2024.

Trans Com Meeting Minutes November 21, 2024 Page 3

b. **[00:44:14] UDOT Upcoming Funded Capacity Projects** - Kendall Draney, UDOT Region 2 Program Manager, gave a presentation on several current and upcoming funded capacity projects that UDOT is responsible for in the Salt Lake and Tooele areas. **[01:06:21]** Nathan Peterson, UDOT Region 1 Deputy Director, gave a similar update on environmental studies and capacity projects in the northern area of the WFRC region.

### 6. Other Business & Adjournment [01:35:25]

With no further business, Mayor Shepherd asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Mayor Lorin Palmer, Herriman City, motioned to adjourn, seconded by Councilmember Dugan. The affirmative vote was unanimous. The meeting ended at 3:10 p.m.

A recording of this meeting, as well as meeting packet materials, may be found on the WFRC website at <a href="www.wfrc.org">www.wfrc.org</a>.