

# TRANSPORTATION COORDINATING COMMITTEE (Trans Com) Special Meeting Minutes

July 08, 2021

A special meeting was held on Thursday, July 08, 2021, via remote connection due to the safety restrictions put in place by the Utah Governor's Office, in response to COVID-19 concerns, in Salt Lake City, Utah. The following were present:

2021 TRANS COM MEMBERS			
COG APPOINTED		OTHER APPOINTMENTS, cont.	
BOX ELDER COUNTY		UTA Board of Trustees	
Member - Kevin Jeppsen (Perry City)	yes	Member – Carlton Christensen	yes
Alternate - Jeff Hadfield (Box Elder County)	yes	Member – Beth Holbrook	yes
DAVIS COUNTY		Utah Air Quality Board	
Member - Mark Shepherd (Clearfield)	yes	Member – Kevin Cromar	yes
Alternate - Clark Wilkinson (Centerville)	no	NON-VOTING MEMBERS	
Member - Mike Gailey (Syracuse)	yes	UDOT Representative	
Alternate - Kenneth Romney (West Bountiful)	no	Member – Teri Newell	no
MORGAN COUNTY		Alternate – Ben Huot	yes
Member- Jared Andersen (Morgan County)	no	UTA Representative	
Alternate - Robert McConnell (Morgan County)	no	Member (interim) – GJ LaBonty	no
SALT LAKE COUNTY		Alternate – Kerry Doane	no
Member - Robert Dahle (Holladay)	yes	Air Quality Board, Staff Representative	
Member - Ann Granato (Salt Lake Co Council)	yes	Bryce Bird	yes
Member - D. Blair Camp (Murray)	yes	FHWA – Utah Division Representative	
Member - Robert Hale (Midvale)	yes	Ivan Marrero	yes
Alternate - Trent Staggs (Riverton)	no	Mountainland Association of Governments	
Alternate - Mike Peterson (Cttnwood Heights)	no	Julie Fullmer - Vineyard	yes
Alternate - Derk Timothy (Bluffdale)	no	Other Attendees	
Alternate - Clint Smith (Herriman)	yes	Brad Palmer, UDOT, Elden Bingham, UDOT	
TOOELE COUNTY		Tami Moody, and Wendy Thomas, Herriman City	
Member - Tom Tripp (Tooele County)	no	Dennis Pay, South Salt Lake City, Shule Bishop, UTA	
Alternate - Jared Hamner (Tooele County)	yes	Helen Peters, and Will Kocher, Salt Lake County	
WEBER COUNTY		Ayanna Reed, FTA	
Member – Jim Harvey (Weber County)	yes	WFRC:	
Alternate - Leonard Call (Pleasant View)	no	Andrew Gruber, Wayne Bennion, Andrea Pearson Ned Hacker, Ben Wuthrich, Miranda Jones Cox	
Member – Norm Searle (Riverdale)	yes		
Alternate – Robert Dandoy (Roy)	no	]	
OTHER APPOINTMENTS		]	
Utah Transportation Commission		1	
Member – Kevin Van Tassell	yes	1	
Member – Natalie Gochnour	no	1	
		1	

Page 2

#### 1. Introductions [00:00:04]

Mayor Mark Shepherd, Chair, called the special meeting of Trans Com to order at 9:00am. Introductions were made via roll call.

# 3. Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) [00:01:29]

# a. ACTION: Board Modifications to the 2021-2026 TIP

Mayor Shepherd reminded the group that earlier this year the State Legislature directed UDOT and the State Transportation Commission to program highway projects using the approved prioritization process for the Transportation Investment Fund through the year 2029/2030, and to include certain specific projects in the Statewide Transportation Improvement Program. The Legislature recognizes the value of the collaborative planning process conducted by UDOT, the four Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs), and the transit agencies. In re-evaluating construction timelines, UDOT has determined that some of the projects can move forward sooner than previously anticipated.

The projects being considered come from Utah's Unified Transportation Plan, and in order for these projects to move forward, they need to be added to the 2021-2026 Statewide Transportation Improvement Program, which includes the Transportation Improvement Programs approved by the four MPOs. Consequently, UDOT has requested that the Wasatch Front Regional Council modify the current 2021-2026 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) with the projects as discussed. This modification requires action from Trans Com, as delegated by the Regional Council, and the Transportation Commission but does not require an air quality conformity analysis or 30-day public comment period. The requested modification was included in the meeting materials.

**[00:01:45]** Mayor Shepherd turned the time to Ben Wuthrich, WFRC, who reviewed the projects designated to move forward. The projects are as follows: 1) I-15; SR-97 Interchange & 5600 South Improvements; 2) SR-111; Herriman Parkway to 11800 South; and 3) S.R. 85; Mountain View Corridor, Porter Rockwell to 2100 North.

**[00:09:39]** Mayor Shepherd entertained a motion regarding these projects. Mayor Norm Searle made a motion to modify the 2021-2026 TIP as requested. Councilmember Clint Smith seconded the motion, and the affirmative vote was unanimous.

# 2. Public Comment [00:09:25]

Mayor Shepherd then opened the meeting up for public comments. There were no public comments.

# 4. Adjournment [00:10:18]

With no further business, Mayor Shepherd entertained a motion to adjourn. UTA Trustee Carlton Christensen made a motion for the meeting to adjourn. The motion was seconded by Councilmember Clint Smith and the affirmative vote was unanimous. The meeting concluded at 9:15am.

A recording of this meeting, as well as meeting packet materials, may be found on the WFRC website at www.wfrc.org