

# WASATCH FRONT REGIONAL COUNCIL

#### MINUTES

WFRC || Regional Growth Committee

March 20, 2025

WFRC Regional Growth Committee Meeting was held at WFRC Office, 41 N Rio Grande Street, Salt Lake City and via Zoom.

## 1. Welcome & Consent Agenda [00:00:06]

At 9:22 a.m., Mayor Robert Dandoy of Roy City, Chair of the Regional Growth Committee, called the meeting to order and welcomed the members and guests. Introductions were made both in person and online. Mayor Dandoy introduced the new RGC members for 2025, allowing them a moment to introduce themselves. **ACTION:** [00:06:24] Sandy City Mayor Monica Zoltanski made a motion to approve the <u>Minutes</u> of the RGC Meeting held Jan 16, 2025. Sandy City Councilmember Alison Stroud seconded the motion. There was no discussion and the minutes were approved unanimously.

#### 2. Public Comment [00:07:07]

There was no public comment.

#### 3. Chair Report [00:07:26]

- a. Overview of RGC, Identify issues of interest: [00:07:52] Ted Knowlton, Deputy Director at WFRC, provided an overview of the Regional Growth Committee, outlining the group's roles and responsibilities. He also facilitated a discussion on key considerations for 2025, inviting suggestions on topics the group would like to explore further. Ted inquired whether the RGC is striking the right balance between a big-picture perspective and more detailed discussions.
- **b.** Legislative Outcomes [00:33:22] Miranda Jones Cox, Government Affairs Manager at WFRC, provided a report on the outcomes of the 2025 Legislative Session, highlighting key developments related to transportation, growth, and housing.

#### 4. Community Planning Updates [01:09:24]

- a. Transportation & Land Use Connection Program 2025 Awarded Projects [01:10:59] Megan Padjen, Community & Economic Development Director at WFRC, reviewed the communities and projects selected to receive Transportation & Land Use Connection technical assistance in 2025.
- b. Station Area Plan Certification: Sandy City [01:23:50] Byron Head, Community Planner at WFRC, provided an overview of Sandy City's Station Area Plan, which includes five stations: Historic Sandy TRAX, Sandy Expo TRAX, Sandy Civic Center TRAX, Crescent View TRAX, and the South Jordan FrontRunner (Sandy portion). Mayor Monica Zoltanski of Sandy City emphasized the importance of these Station Areas, and Jake Warner from Sandy City outlined the efforts involved in preparing the Station Area plans.

**ACTION**: **[01:44:21]** Mayor Monica Zoltanski made a motion to recommend the certification of the Sandy Station Area Plan to the Wasatch Front Regional Council. Sandy City Councilmember Alison Stroud seconded the motion. With no further discussion, the motion passed unanimously.

#### 5. Wasatch Front Travel Demand Model Upgrade ("Activity-based Model") [01:45:09]

Bert Granberg, Analytics Director at WFRC, provided an overview of the upgrade to the Wasatch Front Travel Demand Model and explained how it helps assess the impact of potential transportation and growth decisions on Utah's future development.

## 6. Planning for Emerging Transportation Technologies [01:58:25]

Mayor Dandoy announced that, due to time constraints, Item #6, 'Planning for Emerging Transportation Technologies,' will be tabled for a future meeting.

#### 7. Other Business & Adjournment [01:59:06]

Mayor Dandoy announced that the next Regional Growth Committee meeting is scheduled for May 15, 2025, at 9:15 AM. He noted that photos will be taken at the beginning of the meeting and requested that members be on time and attend in person. **[01:59:42]** Mayor Brandon Stanger of Clinton City made a motion to adjourn the meeting, which was seconded by Bryce Bird of the Air Quality Board. The meeting adjourned at 11:21 am.

A recording of this meeting, as well as meeting materials, may be found on the WFRC website at www.wfrc.org. Please see the next page for attendance.

	Regior	nal Growth Committee		
2025 RGC MEMBERS BOX ELDER COUNTY				Others in attendance Sandy City Attendees
Alternate -	Tyler Vincent, Commissioner	Box Elder County	No	Brian McCuistion
DAVIS COUNTY				Sarah Stringham
Member -	Brandon Stanger, Mayor	Clinton	Yes	Kim Bell
Alternate -	Kendalyn Harris, Mayor	Bountiful	No	Susan Wood
Member -	Tamara Tran, Mayor	Kaysville	Yes	Jake Warner
Alternate -	Brian Horrocks, Mayor	North Salt Lake	No	Melissa Andersen
	MORGAN COUN	ГҮ		
Member-	Tony London, Councilmember	Morgan City	No	Other Attendees
Alternate -	Blaine Fackrell, Commissioner	Morgan County	Yes	Chandler Beutler, UTA
SALT LAKE COUNTY				Roger Borgenicht, UBET
Member -	Dawn Ramsey, Mayor	South Jordan	No	Cody Lutz, Envision UT
Alternate -	Alison Stroud, Councilmember	Sandy	Yes	Natalie Bowen, SL Chamber
Member -	Jenny Wilson, Mayor	Salt Lake County	No	K. Marousis
Member -	Kristie Overson	Taylorsville	Yes	Joe Taylor, SLC
Member -	Monica Zoltanski, Mayor	Sandy	Yes	Isaac Higham, SLC
Alternate -	Eric Barney, Mayor	Magna	No	Brandon C.
Alternate -	Cherie Wood, Mayor	South Salt Lake	Yes	
Alternate -	Brooke D'Sousa, Councilmember	Sandy	Yes	WFRC STAFF
	TOOELE COUNT		Andrew Gruber	
Member -	Kendall Thomas, Councilmember	Tooele County	Yes	Ted Knowlton
Alternate -	Ed Hansen, Councilmember	Tooele City	No	Andrea Pearson
	WEBER COUNT		Jordon Chandler	
Member -	Sharon Bolos, Commissioner	Weber county	No	Rosie Hernandez
Alternate -	Ken Phippen, Mayor	Farr West	No	Miranda Jones Cox
Member -	Robert Dandoy, Mayor (Chair)	Roy	Yes	Jory Johner
Alternate -	Gordon Cutler, Mayor	Uintah	No	Julie Bjornstad
	OTHER APPOINTME		Lauren Victor	
Member -	Natalie Gochnour, Commissioner	Utah Transportation Commission	No	Johnnae Nardone
Alternate -	Brad Dee, Commissioner	Utah Transportation Commission	Yes	Megan Padjen
Member -	Beth Holbrook, Trustee	UTA	Yes	Byron Head
Alternate -	Carlton Christensen, Trustee	UTA	Yes	Tim Watkins
Member -	Kevin Cromar, Board Member	Utah Air Quality Board	Yes	Marian Florence
Alternate -	Vacant	Utah Air Quality Board		Chay Mosqueda
Member -	Ari Bruening, Executive Director	Envision Utah	No	Madison Aviles
Alternate -	Ryan Beck, Deputy Director	Envision Utah	No	Ellie Spencer
	Bert Granberg			
Member -	Tiffany Pocock, Program Development Dir.	UDOT	Yes	Matt Ryan
Alternate -	Andrea Olson, Planning Director	UDOT	No	Samantha DeSeelhorst
Member -	Nichol Bourdeaux, Chief Planning & Engmt Ofc	UTA	Yes	Chad Worthen
Alternate -	Vacant	UTA		Bill Hereth
Member -	Bryce Bird, Director	Department of Air Quality	Yes	Christy Dahlberg

Member -	Ivan Marrero	Federal Highway Association	No	Sarah Lawless
Alternate -	Zane Pulver	Federal Highway Association	Yes	
Member -	Lorin Palmer, Herriman City Mayor	Utah League of Cities & Towns	Yes	
Member -	Dina Blaes, Salt Lake County	Utah Association of Counties	Yes	
Member -	Julie Fullmer, Vineyard City Mayor	Mountainland Assoc. of Governments	Yes	
Member -	Lorene Kamalu, Commissioner (Vice Chair)	Davis County	Yes	
Member -	Kristen Cordova	Utah Urban Land Institute	Yes	
Member -	Laura Hanson	GOPB/Quality Growth Commission	Yes	
Member -	Mary Catherine (MC) Perry	Salt Lake Chamber	No	
Member -	Reid Ewing	University of Utah	Yes	