

Regional Growth Committee MINUTES

August 17, 2023

A meeting was held on Thursday, August 17, 2023, at WFRC Offices, 41 N. Rio Grande St, Salt Lake City, UT and also via Zoom. The following were present:

MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES PRESENT			OTHER APPOINTED MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES		
Dennis Bott, Member	No		Natalie Gochnour, Member	No	
(Brigham City)	NO		Utah Transportation Commission	INO	
Vacant, Alternate	_		Kevin Van Tassell, Alternate	Yes	
(Box Elder County)			Utah Transportation Commission	163	
Brandon Stanger, Member	Yes		Beth Holbrook, Member	Yes	
(Clinton)			Utah Transit Authority Board of Trustees	163	
Kendalyn Harris, Alternate	No		Carlton Christensen, Alternate	Yes	
(Bountiful)	NO		Utah Transit Authority Board of Trustees	res	
Brian Horrocks, Member	Yes		Ari Bruening, Member	Yes	
(North Salt Lake)	res		Envision Utah	100	
Brian Vincent, Alternate	No		Ryan Beck, Alternate	Vac	
(West Point)	No		Envision Utah	Yes	
Matt Wilson, Member	N-		Kevin Cromar, Member	V	
(Morgan County)	No		Utah Air Quality Board	Yes	
Mike Newton, Alternate	N-		NON VOTING NATINATES AND ALTERNATES DESCENT	-	
(Morgan County)	No		NON-VOTING MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES PRESENT		
Dawn Ramsey, Member	V		Ben Huot, Member		
(South Jordan)	Yes		Utah Department of Transportation	No	
Alison Stroud, Alternate	N.		Andrea Olson, Alternate	V	
(Sandy City Council)	No		Utah Department of Transportation	Yes	
Jenny Wilson, Member	V		Russ Fox, Member	N.	
(Salt Lake County)	Yes		Utah Transit Authority	No	
Dave Alvord, Member			Nichol Bourdeaux, Alternate	V	
(SL Councilmember)	Yes		Utah Transit Authority	Yes	
Monica Zoltanski, Member	V		Bryce Bird, Staff Representative	Voc	
(Sandy)	Yes		Utah Air Quality Board	Yes	
Lorin Palmer, Alternate	N-		Ivan Marrero, Member	No	
(Herriman)	No		FHWA-Utah Division	No	
Dan Peay, Alternate	N-		Jennifer Elsken, Alternate	Vac	
(Magna)	No		FHWA-Utah Division	Yes	
Cherie Wood, Alternate	N-		Natalie Hall	N	
(South Salt Lake)	No		Utah League of Cities and Towns	No	
Brett Hales, Alternate	N-		Dina Blaes	N	
(Murray)	No		Utah Association of Counties	No	
Kendall Thomas, Member	V		Julie Fullmer, Vineyard Mayor	N-	
(Tooele County)	Yes		Mountainland Association of Governments	No	
Ed Hansen, Alternate	No		Helen Peters, Alternate	Voc	
(Tooele City)	No		Salt Lake County	Yes	
Sharon Bolos, Member	Vos		WEDC ADDOINTMENTS FROM OTHER ORGANIZATION	CROM OTHER ORGANIZATIONS	
(Weber County)	Yes		WFRC APPOINTMENTS FROM OTHER ORGANIZATIONS		
Dale Fowers, Alternate	No		Lorene Kamalu, Member	Vos	
(Hooper)	No	\perp	Davis County, Vice Chair	Yes	
Robert Dandoy, Member	V		Robert Schmidt	N-	
(Roy) Chair	Yes		Utah Urban Lands Institute	No	
Gordan Cutler, Alternate	No		Laura Hanson,	Voc	
(Uintah)	No		GOPB	Yes	

		Ginger Chinn, Utah Transportation Coalition		No				
		Reid Ewing, University of Utah		No				
OTHER ATTENDEES PRESENT, including WFRC Staff:								
David Mann, South Jordan; Linda Johnson, Citizen;			WFRC: Andrew Gruber, Ted Knowlton, Andrea Pearson,					
Steve Parkinson, Roy; Ryan Anderson, Salt Lake Co;			Jordon Chandler, Rosie Hernandez, Wayne Bennion,					
Kyle Ruhlin, COE; Matthew Ryan, UDOT;			Mike Sobczak, Marcia White, Byron Head, Miranda Jones Cox,					
Kimberly Bell, Sandy; Corinne Johnson, Salt Lake Co			Jory Johner, Lilah Rosenfield, Luis Garcia, Jeresun Atkin					
Guests Via Zoom: Bret, Caleb, Nick Tarbet			Megan Townsend, Bert Granberg, Hugh Van Wagenen					
			Lauren Victor, Christy Dahlberg, Sarah Lawless					

1. Introductions and Consent Agenda [00:00:07]

At 9:47am, Regional Growth Committee Chair, Mayor Robert Dandoy, welcomed the members and guests of the Regional Growth Committee Meeting. Introductions were made around the table and online via roll call. Andrew Gruber, Executive Director at WFRC, introduced Dr. Kevin Cromar with the Utah Air Quality Board as a new member of the Regional Growth Committee.

[00:04:05] ACTION: UTA Trustee Beth Holbrook made a motion to approve the Minutes of the RGC Meeting held May 18, 2023. Salt Lake County Mayor Jenny Wilson seconded the motion. There was no discussion, the minutes were approved unanimously.

2. Public Comment [00:04:45]

There was no public comment.

3. Chair Report [00:05:10]

Mayor Dandoy recognized Mayor Jenny Wilson for meeting with President Biden during his recent visit to Utah.

4. Information: Wasatch Choice Regional Vision 2023 Refresh [00:06:47]

Mayor Dandoy introduced Mayor Dawn Ramsey, South Jordan City, who gave an introduction of the 2023 Wasatch Choice Regional Vision. Mayor Ramsey touched on the four key strategies: Transportation Choices, Housing Options, Parks & Public Spaces, and City & Town Centers. Ted Knowlton, Deputy Director at WFRC, gave a presentation on the interactive map as well as the tools and resources that can be found on the Wasatch Choice Vision website. Mr. Knowlton also gave a brief overview of the 10 goals of the vision and how the plan helps with Utah's Growth over the next 30 years.

5. Guiding our Growth - Utah's Statewide Growth Conversation Update [00:49:06]

Laura Hanson, Statewide Planning Coordinator at GOPB and Ari Bruening, Executive Director at Envision Utah, gave a preview of the preliminary survey results from the Guiding our Growth Survey that was put out by the Government's Office of Planning and Budget. The survey closes August 31st, 2023.

6. Station Area Planning [01:13:02]

Mayor Dandoy introduced Megan Townsend, Community and Economic Development Director at WFRC, who gave an overview of Station Area Planning which is implemented under HB462, and the funding and process that is included.

a. [01:19:30] Ms. Townsend introduced the Station Area Plan for Roy City and turned the time over to Roy city's Mayor Robert Dandoy and Planner, Steve Parkinson; to give details on the plan and discuss the importance of this plan to their city. [01:43:36] ACTION: After a positive recommendation for certification from WFRC Staff; Mayor Brandon Stanger made a motion to recommend the Wasatch Front Regional Council to approve the Station Area Plan certification request for Roy City. UTA Trustee, Beth

- Holbrook seconded the motion. Mayor Robert Dandoy, Roy City abstained from voting. There was no discussion, the motion passed unanimously with one abstention.
- b. **[01:44:27]** Ms. Townsend introduced the Station Area Plan for South Jordan City, and explained some of the impracticalities that surround this plan. Mayor Dawn Ramsey, South Jordan, discussed the uniqueness and importance of this plan, and the connectivity and accessibility it brings to the area. **[01:52:48] ACTION:** After a positive recommendation for certification from WFRC Staff; Mayor Robert Dandoy made a motion to recommend the Wasatch Front Regional Council to approve the Station Area Plan certification request for South Jordan City. Commissioner Lorene Kamalu seconded the motion. Mayor Dawn Ramsey, South Jordan City abstained from voting. There was no discussion, the motion passed unanimously with one abstention.

7. Information: Funding Opportunities [01:54:12]

Mayor Dandoy explained that due to time constraints, we would swap the agenda and first hear about Item #7b, and then #7a.

7b. **[01:54:52]** Andrea Olson, UDOT explained that Nominations for TIF/TTIF are due through August 31st, 2023, and explained some of the eligibility requirements.

7a. [01:59:10] Wayne Bennion and Megan Townsend, of WFRC gave a brief overview of the three types of <u>Funding Opportunities</u> for local governments, and discussed the application cycle that is coming up for several different programs.

8. Other Business & Adjournment [02:04:52]

The next Regional Growth Committee meeting is October 19th, 2023. Commissioner Lorene Kamalu made a motion to adjourn, Trustee Beth Holbrook seconded the motion.

Meeting adjourned at 11:51 AM

A recording of this meeting, as well as meeting materials, may be found on the WFRC website at www.wfrc.ora