

Regional Growth Committee || Minutes || October 19, 2023

A meeting was held on Thursday, October 19, 2023, at WFRC Offices, 41 N. Rio Grande St, Salt Lake City, UT and also via Zoom. The following were present:

| MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES PRESENT | | | OTHER APPOINTED MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES | | |
|---------------------------------|-----|---------|--|--------|--|
| Dennis Bott, Member | N- | | Natalie Gochnour, Member | N- | |
| (Brigham City) | No | | Utah Transportation Commission | No | |
| Vacant, Alternate | | | Kevin Van Tassell, Alternate | Vas | |
| (Box Elder County) | _ | | Utah Transportation Commission | Yes | |
| Brandon Stanger, Member | Yes | | Beth Holbrook, Member | No | |
| (Clinton) | res | | Utah Transit Authority Board of Trustees | INO | |
| Kendalyn Harris, Alternate | No | | Carlton Christensen, Alternate | Yes | |
| (Bountiful) | NO | | Utah Transit Authority Board of Trustees | 163 | |
| Brian Horrocks, Member | Yes | | Ari Bruening, Member | No | |
| (North Salt Lake) | 163 | | Envision Utah | NO | |
| Brian Vincent, Alternate | No | | Ryan Beck, Alternate | Yes | |
| (West Point) | 140 | _ | Envision Utah | 163 | |
| Matt Wilson, Member | No | | Kevin Cromar, Member | No | |
| (Morgan County) | 110 | _ | Utah Air Quality Board | 110 | |
| Mike Newton, Alternate | No | | NON-VOTING MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES PR | ESENT | |
| (Morgan County) | 1 | _ | | T | |
| Dawn Ramsey, Member | No | | Ben Huot, Member | No | |
| (South Jordan) | 1 | _ | Utah Department of Transportation | | |
| Alison Stroud, Alternate | No | | Andrea Olson, Alternate | No | |
| (Sandy City Council) | 1 | + | Utah Department of Transportation | | |
| Jenny Wilson, Member | No | | Russ Fox, Member | Yes | |
| (Salt Lake County) | | + | Utah Transit Authority | | |
| Dave Alvord, Member | Yes | | Nichol Bourdeaux, Alternate | Yes | |
| (SL Councilmember) | | + | Utah Transit Authority | | |
| Monica Zoltanski, Member | No | | Bryce Bird, Staff Representative | Yes | |
| (Sandy) Lorin Palmer, Alternate | 1 | + | Utah Air Quality Board | | |
| (Herriman) | Yes | | Ivan Marrero, Member FHWA-Utah Division | No | |
| Dan Peay, Alternate | | + | Jennifer Elsken, Alternate | | |
| (Magna) | No | | FHWA-Utah Division | No | |
| Cherie Wood, Alternate | | + | Natalie Hall | | |
| (South Salt Lake) | No | | Utah League of Cities and Towns | No | |
| Brett Hales, Alternate | 1 | \top | Dina Blaes | | |
| (Murray) | No | | Utah Association of Counties | No | |
| Kendall Thomas, Member | | \top | Julie Fullmer, Vineyard Mayor | | |
| (Tooele County) | Yes | | Mountainland Association of Governments | No | |
| Ed Hansen, Alternate | | 1 | Helen Peters, Alternate | | |
| (Tooele City) | No | | Salt Lake County | No | |
| Sharon Bolos, Member | ,. | | , | | |
| (Weber County) | Yes | | WFRC APPOINTMENTS FROM OTHER ORGANIZ | ATIONS | |
| Dale Fowers, Alternate | i | | Lorene Kamalu, Member | ., | |
| (Hooper) | No | | Davis County, Vice Chair | Yes | |
| Robert Dandoy, Member | Vac | | Robert Schmidt | No | |
| (Roy) Chair | Yes | \perp | Utah Urban Lands Institute | No | |
| Gordan Cutler, Alternate | No | | Laura Hanson, | Voc | |
| (Uintah) | INO | \perp | GOPB | Yes | |
| | | | Ginger Chinn, | Yes | |
| | | | Utah Transportation Coalition | 162 | |
| | | | Reid Ewing, | Yes | |
| | 1 | | University of Utah | 163 | |

| OTHER ATTENDEES PRESENT, including WFRC Staff: | | | | |
|--|--|--|--|--|
| Linda Johnson, Citizen; Jaren Tavss U of U Student | | WFRC: Andrew Gruber, Ted Knowlton, Andrea Pearson, | | |
| Eric Gibson, Better cities; Jim Harvey, Weber Co. COMNR; | | Jordon Chandler, Rosie Hernandez, Hugh Van Wagenen | | |
| Tiffany Pocock, UDOT; | | Mike Sobczak, Marcia White, Byron Head, Miranda Jones Cox, | | |
| Guests Via Zoom: Jared Gerber, Wendy Thomas, Herriman; | | Jory Johner, Megan Townsend, Mikala Jordan, Chay Mosqueda, | | |
| Steven Shields; AJ Yates; Heather McLaughlin-Kolb; | | Lauren Victor, Christy Dahlberg, Julie Bjornstad, | | |
| | | | | |

1. Introductions and Consent Agenda [00:00:48]

At 9:48am, Regional Growth Committee Chair, Mayor Robert Dandoy, welcomed the members and guests of the Regional Growth Committee Meeting. Introductions were made around the table and online via roll call.

ACTION [00:04:10]: Utah Transportation Commissioner Kevin Van Tassell made a motion to approve the Minutes of the RGC Meeting held August 17, 2023. North Salt Lake Mayor Brian Horrocks seconded the motion, there was no discussion, minutes were approved unanimously.

2. Public Comment [00:04:50]

There was no public comment.

3. Chair Report [00:05:07]

Mayor Dandoy introduced Jory Johner, WFRC Long Range Planning Manager, who gave an introduction on the updated Unified Transportation Plan, and the features of the new website, including the interactive map.

4. Information: Implementing the Wasatch Choice Vision [00:31:57]

Mayor Dandoy introduced Ted Knowlton, WFRC Deputy Director, who gave an overview of the Wasatch Choice Vision which is a shared framework for coordinating near and long term transportation, land use and economic development activities. Hugh Van Wagenen, WFRC gave an update on the upcoming Fall Workshops, which will be held in five areas throughout the region in November and will take a more area-specific approach to the Wasatch Choice Vision implementation. Marcia White, WFRC and Eric Gibson, Better City, gave an update on the Economic Development portion of the Vision. Ted Knowlton, WFRC led a discussion among members focusing on issues that relate to the Vision, as well as potential actions to help address those issues.

5. <u>Information</u>: Parking Policy Modernization Guide [01:25:18]

Mayor Dandoy asked Julie Bjornstad, WFRC, to give an overview of the Parking Policy Modernization Guide which helps address the concerns around parking. Ms. Bjornstad discussed how the parking dynamics have drastically changed over the years, while the policy manual remains the same. WFRC's Modernization Guide helps to bridge the gap between policy and demand. She also mentioned some other resources available to planners within WFRC.

6. ACTION: Consider Station Area Plan Certification Request for West Valley City [01:37:22]

Mayor Dandoy explained that this Station Area Plan Certification request would be tabled until the January meeting.

7. Other Business & Adjournment [01:37:33]

Mayor Dandoy explained the possibility of adjusting the time for 2024 RGC meetings to 9:15 AM, rather than the current 9:45 AM time. There was discussion among members, and an agreement to make the time change. The next meeting will be January 18, 2024 at 9:15 AM.

Andrew Gruber, WFRC Executive Director, expressed appreciation and farewell to two staff members that will be moving back to their home states. Mikala Jordan, Community Planner, and Mike Sobczak, Communications Manager.

UTA Trustee Carlton Christensen made a motion to adjourn, Mayor Brandon Stanger seconded the motion. There was no discussion. **Meeting adjourned at 11:33 AM**