

Regional Growth Committee MINUTES

March 16, 2023

A meeting was held on Thursday, March 16, 2022, at WFRC Offices, 41 N. Rio Grande St, Salt Lake City, UT and also via Zoom. The following were present:

MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES PRESENT		OTHER APPOINTED MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES		
Dennis Bott, Member	No	Natalie Gochnour, Member	No	
(Brigham City)	NO	Utah Transportation Commission	INO	
Vacant, Alternate	No Yes	Kevin Van Tassell, Alternate	No Yes	
(Box Elder County)		Utah Transportation Commission		
Brandon Stanger, Member		Beth Holbrook, Member		
(Clinton)		Utah Transit Authority Board of Trustees		
Kendalyn Harris, Alternate	No	Carlton Christensen, Alternate	Yes	
(Bountiful)		Utah Transit Authority Board of Trustees		
Brian Horrocks, Member	Yes	Ari Bruening, Member	No	
(North Salt Lake)		Envision Utah		
Brian Vincent, Alternate	No	Ryan Beck, Alternate		
(West Point)		Envision Utah	Yes	
Matt Wilson, Member				
(Morgan County)	No	NON-VOTING MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES PRESENT		
Mike Newton, Alternate		Ben Huot, Member		
(Morgan County)	Yes	Utah Department of Transportation	Yes	
Dawn Ramsey, Member	Yes Yes	Andrea Olson, Alternate	Yes Yes	
(South Jordan)		Utah Department of Transportation		
Alison Stroud, Alternate		Russ Fox, Member		
(Sandy City Council)		Utah Transit Authority		
Jenny Wilson, Member	Yes	Nichol Bourdeaux, Alternate	Yes	
(Salt Lake County)		Utah Transit Authority		
Dave Alvord, Member	Yes	 	Yes	
(SL Councilmember)		Bryce Bird, Staff Representative		
,	Yes	Utah Air Quality Board	Yes	
Monica Zoltanski, Member		Ivan Marrero, Member		
(Sandy)	Yes	FHWA-Utah Division	Yes	
Lorin Palmer, Alternate		Jennifer Elsken, Alternate		
(Herriman)		FHWA-Utah Division		
Dan Peay, Alternate	No	Natalie Hall	Yes	
(Magna)		Utah League of Cities and Towns		
Cherie Wood, Alternate	No	Dina Blaes	No	
(South Salt Lake)		Utah Association of Counties		
Brett Hales, Alternate	Yes	Julie Fullmer, Vineyard Mayor	Yes	
(Murray)		Mountainland Association of Governments		
Kendall Thomas, Member	Yes	WFRC APPOINTMENTS FROM OTHER ORGAN	NIZATIONS	
(Tooele County)	163			
Ed Hansen, Alternate	No	Lorene Kamalu, Member	Yes	
(Tooele City)	NO	Davis County, Vice Chair	163	
Sharon Bolos, Member	Yes	Robert Schmidt	No	
(Weber County)	103	Utah Urban Lands Institute	140	
Dale Fowers, Alternate	Yes	Laura Hanson,	No	
(Hooper)	163	GOPB	No	
Robert Dandoy, Member	Voc	Ginger Chinn,	NI-	
(Roy) Chair	Yes	Utah Transportation Coalition	No	
Gordon Cutler, Alternate	NI-	Reid Ewing,		
	No	1 1	Yes	
(Uintah)		University of Utah		

Page 2

r age 2				
OTHER ATTENDEES PRESENT, including WFRC Staff:				
COMNR Harvey, Weber Co. Teri Newell, UDOT	WFRC: Andrew Gruber, Ted Knowlton, Andrea Pearson,			
COMNR Stevenson, Davis Co. Brigitte Mandel, FHWA	Jordon Chandler, Rosie Hernandez, Wayne Bennion,			
Mayor Silvestrini, Millcreek, Wendy Thomas, Herriman	Mike Sobczak, Byron Head, Marcia White, Mikala Jordan,			
Nathan Cherpeski, Herriman, Nick Tarbet, Helen Peters, SLCo	Marian Florence, Jory Johner, Julie Bjornstad, Nikki Navio,			
Carissa Watanabe, Mary DeLoretto, Ned Hacker,	Megan Townsend, Bert Granberg, Hugh Van Wagenen			
Kimberly Bell, Michael Sheffield, Colby Oliverson,	Lauren Victor, Christy Dahlberg, Sarah Lawless			

1. Introductions and Consent Agenda - [00:00:03]

At 9:49am, Regional Growth Committee Chair, Mayor Robert Dandoy welcomed the committee, and roll call was taken. Andrea Pearson, WFRC, read online attendees. Mayor Dandoy announced the new RGC Committee members for 2023, and asked them to introduce themselves.

a. <u>ACTION: Minutes</u> of the RGC Meeting held January 19, 2023, **[00:08:23]** Mayor Jenny Wilson, Salt Lake County made a motion to approve the minutes. UTA Trustee Beth Holbrook, seconded the motion. There was no discussion; approved unanimously.

2. Public Comment [00:09:06]

There were no public comments.

3. <u>Information: Overview of Regional Growth Committee</u> [00:09:32]

Mayor Dandoy turned the time over to Ted Knowlton, Deputy Director of WFRC, who discussed the Regional Growth Committee's (RGC) role, responsibilities and how it came to be a committee within WFRC.

4. <u>Information: Legislative and Grants Update: Safe Streets for All / Utah Trail Network</u> [00:15:38]

Mayor Dandoy turned the time over to Andrew Gruber, Executive Director of WFRC, who gave an overview of the 2023 Legislative Session. Utah passed a record 575 bills, and a \$29.4 Billion budget. Mr. Gruber highlighted some of the transportation bills that were passed, including the Utah Trail Network. Teri Newell, UDOT, touched on the next steps UDOT will be taking to implement the Utah Trail Network. Wayne Bennion, WFRC, reviewed the Safe Streets for all Grant. Hugh Van Wagenen, WFRC, gave an update on the RAISE Grant.

5. Information: Wasatch Choice Vision and 2023-2050 Regional Transportation Plan [00:48:56]

Mayor Dandoy turned the time over to Ted Knowlton, who reviewed an overall update for the Wasatch Choice Vision. Ted Knowlton introduced Jory Johner, WFRC. Mr. Johner discussed the overview of the Regional Transportation Plan (RTP), and some of the improvements from the 2019 RTP to the 2023 RTP. He reviewed the next steps in the planning process, which includes reviewing public comments, and finalizing the document. [01:06:14] Andrew Gruber explained the relationship between the Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) and the RTP. There was discussion among members regarding the process, and the role that the Wasatch Front Regional Council plays in that process.

6. Information: Transportation and Land Use Connection 2023 Awards [01:55:49]

Mayor Dandoy introduced Megan Townsend, WFRC, who announced the Transportation and Land Use Connection Awards issued for 2023. There were 13 awards, which equated to a little over \$2million. Ms. Townsend thanked IHC for their \$250,000 donation which helped to fund some of these awards.

7. ACTION: Station Area Planning Update [01:59:37]

Megan Townsend, WFRC, gave an update on Station Area Planning, announcing that 40 out of 91 Station Area Plans have received technical assistance. With SB27 being passed in the 2023 legislative session an amendment needs to be made to the policy allowing cities to include previous work made on their Station Area Plans, as long as the work substantially promotes the station area goals. **ACTION:** Mayor Brandon Stanger made a motion to recommend the Council approve the proposed policy amendment to the WFRC Station Area Plan Certification Policy. Mayor Monica Zoltanski seconded the motion. No Discussion; approved unanimously.

Minutes – Regional Growth Committee March 16, 2023 Page 3

8. Video: Overview of the Utah Open and Public Meeting Act [02:06:22]

Mayor Dandoy explained that a review of the Open and Public Meetings Act is an annual requirement, and asked anyone that needs the review to stay for the video. Mayor Dandoy asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting, at the conclusion of the video. **ACTION:** UTA Trustee Beth Holbrook made a motion to adjourn the meeting directly following the video, and Commissioner Sharon Bolos seconded the motion. No discussion; approved unanimously.

9. Other Business and Adjournment: [02:15:22]

Adjourned at 12:04pm.

A recording of this meeting, as well as meeting materials, may be found on the WFRC website at www.wfrc.ora