Joint Policy Advisory Committee

MOUNTAINLAND ASSOCIATION OF GOVERNMENTS UTAH DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION DIXIE METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION



WASATCH FRONT REGIONAL COUNCIL
UTAH TRANSIT AUTHORITY
CACHE METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION

MEETING MINUTES

Wasatch Front Regional Council In person at WFRC and virtual via Zoom Thursday, June 2, 2022 11:30 a.m. – 1:30 p.m.

2022 JPAC Members				
Name Agency		In Attendance		
Jeff Scott	Box Elder County Commissioner	yes		
Jeff Gilbert	Cache MPO	yes		
Todd Beutler	Cache MPO	yes		
Bryan Cox	Cache MPO, Mayor, Hyde Park City	yes		
Rod Westbroek	Davis County, Mayor, South Weber	no		
Bob Stevenson	Davis County Commissioner	yes		
Myron Lee	Dixie MPO	yes		
Gil Almquist	Dixie MPO, Washington Co Commissioner	no		
Ivan Marrero	Federal Highways Administration	no		
Jennifer Elsken	Federal Highways Administration	yes		
Brigitte Mandel	Federal Highways Administration	no		
Tracey MacDonald	Federal Transportation Association	no		
Andrew Jackson	Mountainland Association of Governments	yes		
Shawn Eliot	Mountainland Association of Governments	yes		
Michelle Carroll	Mountainland Association of Governments	yes		
LaNiece Davenport	Mountainland Association of Governments	yes		
Jim Miller	MAG, Mayor, Saratoga Springs	no		
Bill Lee	MAG, Utah County Commissioner	no		
Amelia Powers Gardner	MAG, Utah County Commissioner	no		
Michelle Kaufusi	MAG, Mayor, Provo	yes		
Julie Fullmer	MAG, Mayor, Vineyard	no		
Carla Merrill	MAG, Mayor, Alpine	no		
Jared Andersen	Morgan County Commissioner	no		
Blaine Fackrell	Morgan County Commissioner	no		
Jeff Silvestrini	Salt Lake County, Mayor, Millcreek	yes		
Dawn Ramsey	Salt Lake County, Mayor, South Jordan	no		
Jenny Wilson	Salt Lake County, Mayor, SL County	no		
Trent Staggs	Salt Lake County, Mayor, Riverton	no		
Zach Jacob	Salt Lake Co, Councilmember, West Jordan	no		

Jared Hamner	Tooele County, Too	ele County Council	no		
Dave McCall	Tooele County, Too	ele City Council	yes		
Carlos Braceras	UDOT		yes		
Teri Newell	UDOT		no		
Ben Huot	UDOT		yes		
Andrea Olson	UDOT		yes		
Eileen Barron	UDOT		no		
Carlton Christensen	UTA		yes		
Beth Holbrook	UTA		yes		
Jeff Acerson	UTA		yes		
Nichol Bourdeaux	UTA		yes		
Jay Fox	UTA		no		
Russ Fox	UTA		no		
Schule Bishop	UTA		yes		
Michelle Larsen	UTA		yes		
Mary DeLaMare-Schaefer	UTA		no		
Gage Froerer	Weber County Commissioner		yes		
Neal Berube	Weber County, Mayor, North Ogden		yes		
Andrew Gruber	WFRC		yes		
Ted Knowlton	WFRC		no		
Miranda Jones Cox	WFRC		yes		
Other Attendees					
Ryan Leavitt	Justin Lee	Leif Elder	Lorin Palmer		
Steve Gale	Liam Thrailkill	Ned Hacker	Rosie Hernandez		
Muriel Xochimitl	Peter Asplund	Julie Bjornstad	Jory Johner		
Mary DeLoretto	Jay Aguilar	Mike Sobczak	Andrea Pearson		
Nathan Cherpeski	Tami Moody	Tyler Torres			

Welcome and Introductions

Andrew Gruber, Wasatch Front Regional Council (WFRC), opened the meeting at 11:45am by welcoming the attendees. **[00:01:10]** Roundtable ntroductions were made.

1. Approval of March 31, 2022 Meeting Minutes [00:06:30]

Mr. Gruber brought attention to the minutes from the March 31 meeting and asked for a motion. Commissioner Bob Stevenson moved to accept the meeting minutes as written. Utah Transit Authority Trustee Carlton Christensen seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

2. Update to Utah's transportation needs and revenues - Utah's Unified Transportation Plan 2023-2050 [00:07:05]

Mr. Gruber stated that this meeting will be "funding-themed" and all the agenda items have been developed based on that theme. Mr. Gruber, along with Julie Bjornstad, WFRC, presented an update on Utah's Unified Transportation Plan 2023-2050.

Page 3

3. **Policy discussion [00:50:52]**

- a. Legislative analysis of transportation funding
- b. Key funding issues/questions

Mr. Gruber directed the group's discussion to a list of key funding questions that have been identified and invited more feedback and input regarding these issues.

4. Federal funding [01:15:38]

- a. Federal formula funding impacts on Utah
- b. Federal grant funding what projects are being pursued
- c. 2022-23 Congressionally Directed Spending

Carlton Christensen, and Mary DeLoretto with Utah Transit Authority and Carlos Braceras and Ben Huot with Utah Department of Transportation provided information and led a discussion around several types of federal funding and the implications of each for Utah's transportation future. [01:31:57] Ryan Leavitt, consultant with Barker Leavitt Group, added some thoughts about Congressionally Directed Spending, based on ongoing conversations with Utah's Congressional representatives.

5. Other Business [01:41:35]

Mr. Gruber then asked the group if there were other business items to discuss. There were none. Mr. Gruber reminded the members that the next JPAC meeting will be held on Thursday, September 1, 2022, at 11:30am, and the location will be confirmed. The Joint Policy Advisory Committee meeting adjourned at 1:25p.m.

A recording of this meeting, as well as meeting packet materials, may be found on the WFRC website at www.wfrc.org