

MINUTES ACTIVE TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE

March 12, 2020

A meeting of the Active Transportation Committee was held on Wednesday, March 11, 2020 in the offices of the Wasatch Front Regional Council, 41 North Rio Grande Street, Salt Lake City, Utah. The following were present:

	MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES:	ATC REPRESENTATIVES AND OTHERS PRESENT:
NO	Kenneth Braegger, Member (Willard - Box Elder County)	Becka Rolff, SLC Transportation
NO	Kevin Jeppsen, Alternate (Perry - Box Elder County)	Austin Taylor, Provo City
NO	Katie Witt, Member (Kaysville - Davis County)	Nathan Peterson, Intermountain Healthcare
YES	Jo Sjoblom, Member (South Weber - Davis County)	Chris Wiltsie, Bike Utah
YES	Daryl Ballantyne, Member (Morgan County)	Sharon Hauri, South Salt Lake City
NO	Robert McConnell, Alternate (Morgan County)	Stephanie Tomlin, Fehr & Peers
YES	Troy Walker, Member (Draper - Salt Lake County)	Roger Borgenicht, UBET
YES	Jeff Silvestrini, Member (Millcreek - Salt Lake County)	Myron Willson, Sweet Streets Utah
YES	Dirk Burton, Alternate (West Jordan - Salt Lake County)	Peter Tang, UDOT
YES	Thomas "KJ" Karjola, Member (Stockton - Tooele County)	Sarah Hodson, Get Healthy Utah
YES	Justin Brady, Alternate (Tooele City)	Kim Clausing, Tooele Co Health
YES	Michelle Kaufusi, Member (Provo - Utah County)	Helen Peters, Salt Lake County
YES	Norm Searle, Member (Riverdale - Weber County)	Kayla Kinkead, Utah Transit Authority
YES	Richard Hyer, Member (Ogden - Weber County)	Hanna Hutcheson, University of Utah
YES	Heidi Goedhart, Member (Utah Dept of Transportation)	Brandon Siracuse, University of Utah
NO	Ben Huot, Member (Utah Department of Transportation)	
NO	Andrea Olson, Alternate (Utah Dept of Transportation)	
YES	Laura Hanson, Member (Utah Transit Authority)	
	NON-VOTING MEMBERS:	
YES	Crys Lee, Member (Bike Utah)	
YES	Brett McIff, Member (Utah Department of Health)	
WFRC Staff: Hugh Van Wagenen, Alex Roy, Ben Wuthrich, Christy Dahlberg, Ned Hacker, Katie Gerard, Nicole Proulx, Jory Johner, Ted Knowlton, Joshua Reynolds, Andrea Pearson		

1. Introductions and Consent Agenda:

Mayor Jo Sjoblom, Chair, called the meeting to order at 9:47 a.m. and welcomed committee members and guests. [00:00:26; 00:08:25] Introductions were made.

1a. ACTION: Approval of Minutes [00:02:46]:

Mayor Sjoblom entertained a motion to approve the minutes of the Active Transportation Committee meeting held on February 12, 2020. A motion was made by Mayor Troy Walker, and seconded by Mayor Norm Searle, that the minutes be approved without changes. Motion carried unanimously.

2. Chair Report [00:03:15]:

Mayor Sjoblom expressed her excitement for Bike Month, which is in May. South Weber City is partnering with South Weber Elementary for several fun activities, including a Bike to the School with the Mayor Day. Mayor Sjoblom invited members of the group to organize and/or participate in Bike Month activities and then share their experiences in a future meeting.

3. Public Comment [00:04:23]:

Kim Clausing, with Tooele County Health, announced that Tooele County received a National Parks Grant to support an Active Transportation Planner for the Tooele Valley Pathways Plan. Ms. Clausing also asked the planners in attendance to be mindful of adding active transportation/bike paths between Salt Lake and Tooele, as that looks to be of great benefit to the community.

4. ACTION: Approve 2020 Committee Goals [00:09:30]

Hugh Van Wagenen, WFRC, displayed the draft 2020 Active Transportation Goals that were discussed at the February meeting. Mr. Van Wagenen has incorporated the feedback from that discussion, and other suggestions, into the new set of goals. After some clarification and minor adjustments, Mayor Sjoblom requested a motion to approve the 2020 Goals as finalized. [00:17:30] Mayor Dirk Burton made the motion to approve, which was seconded by Mayor Michelle Kaufusi. The affirmative vote was unanimous. Mr. Van Wagenen will send the updated, finalized version to the members.

5. Review of the Transportation Alternatives Program (TAP) applications [00:18:23]

Ben Wuthrich and Hugh Van Wagenen, both with WFRC, presented several of the TAP applications and other construction project funding requests within the WFRC region, that have a significant active transportation component. This review also included some Surface Transportation Program (STP) and Congestion Mitigation/Air Quality (CMAQ) applications. The full list of projects has been included in the packet material. Mr. Van Wagenen also provided information on similar funding requests for projects in the Mountainland Association of Governments area. All of the applications will be reviewed by the Transportation Coordinating Committee TACs on March 25, 2020, and the Transportation Coordinating Committee on April 16, 2020, before final approval at the Regional Council meeting on May 28, 2020.

6. Agency/City/County Program Updates [01:10:30]

[01:11:10] Hugh Van Wagenen, WFRC, mentioned that planning is occurring for a Mobile Active Transportation Tour (MATT) in Denver, CO, during May's Bike Month.
[01:11:43] Laura Hanson, Utah Transit Authority (UTA), provided an update on the implementation of the 161 projects utilizing TIGER Grant funding (awarded in 2016).
[01:13:25] Crys Lee, Bike Utah, reminded the group about the upcoming Utah Bike Summit on April 14, 2020.

7. Other Business [01:13:45]

Mayor Sjoblom recognized those who used active transportation to attend the meeting today. The Mayor also made note of the upcoming events listed on the meeting agenda and reminded the group that the next ATC meeting is scheduled for April 8, 2020.

8. Adjournment [01:14:30]

Mayor Sjoblom asked for a motion to adjourn the meeting. Laura Hanson, UTA, made a motion to adjourn, and Mayor Norm Searle seconded. The affirmative vote was unanimous. The meeting ended at 11:02am.

A recording of this meeting, as well as meeting packet materials, may be found on the WFRC website at www.wfrc.org